KIKI “Kaiku” (BPC196) out 04.05.2009



Sometimes, producing an album is a process that happens in waves. The ideas come and go. Some get realized instantly, others need time or pondering to inspire new ideas and some just disappear slowly but surely from one’s mind.

For his second album Joakim Ijäs, better known as Kiki, has fully gotten himself into these waves that form a creative process: phases in which everything seems clear – but also moments when things appear stuck and one remains uncertain about what step to take next to make a vision come to life.

“When I worked on the album there were situations when I had a very clear picture of what I wanted without knowing for sure how to realize it, so I had to take a short break. Each time this happened I found a solution after a few days that would solve my dilemma. It was as if I had shouted a question into a world within my mind and what came back was my echo with the answer”, remembers Kiki.

Hence it is no big surprise that Kiki titled his album “Kaiku” – the Finnish term for “echo”.

While all artists who contributed to “Kaiku” stepped into Kiki’s life in very unforeseen fashions and ways, “Kaiku” speaks of a maturing process that moved away some of the focus from club compatibility towards a more subtle and personal mood – and memories of last weekend seem to resonate like a gentle echo.

Jacking old school tracks like “Good Voodoo” or floating anthems like “Starslider” stand right next to Downbeat variations such as “No Words Necessary” and typical dancefloor bombs like the opening track “Autumn Leaves” or “Mogadishu”, making “Kaiku” by far the most mature and timeless thing ever to come from Kiki.

01. Autumn Leaves
02. After The Storm
03. Good Vodoo (feat. Chela Simone)
04. No Words Necessary
05. Starslider
06. Immortal (feat. Pirica)
07. Death Railway
08. Twins
09. Mogadishu
10. Living On FFWD
11. Helios

RELEASE: 04.05.2009
FORMAT: CD / LP / Digital



No Responses Yet to “KIKI “Kaiku” (BPC196) out 04.05.2009”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s